Powered by Squarespace
Navigation
Changing Channels Video (WMV)
9 CKLW-TV & CBET-TV
AutoPilot Companion

UPDATES TO THE SITE:

Thursday
Feb062014

February 4, 2014: First Get 'Married' Then Get 'Courted'!

You'll find six more ads today, from October and November 1991, plus five more Random Pages gallery additions, all from pages of The Blade. The first four are from the Peach Section, starting with a Monday, 10/21/91 "Blade Runner" column by Alan Abrams, "'Busters' Team Has Broken Up," about the departure of WIOT's Cara Sabin, to Dayton and Bill Stewart going to "Honey Radio" in Detroit. Next is a Monday, 11/4/91 story by Alan Abrams, "Same Old Song, All Day Long--at Least for Now," about WRQN-FM's format change. There's another 11/4/91 story, by John Nichols, "WBGU Devoting an Hour to Information on AIDS" and a Wednesday, 11/6/91 story by Tom Ensign, "Toledo the Star on Two Television Shows." Those two shows were an episode of the ABC series Homefront entitled "Toledo" and a PBS series, Great Lakes Watch on Washington. There are also items about Channel 13 and space shuttle coverage on the CableSystem via NASA Select. And there's a Thursday, 11/7/91 "News Section 2" story by Sam Roe, about Jim Rudes, "Retired TV Reporter Finishes One Vote Shy on First Count." The final count would show a loss by an even larger margin in his bid for a seat on Maumee's city council. There's one addition to the PBS gallery, a Sunday, 11/3/91 ad for "Sleepers" on Masterpiece Theatre, on channel 30. There's also one addition to the Channel 36 gallery, a Monday, 10/28/91 ad for Married...with Children and Night Court (First Get 'Married' Then Get 'Courted'!). There are two additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Friday, 11/1/91 ad for The Movie Channel and a Thursday, 11/7/91 ad for coverage of the Space Shuttle Atlantis on the NASA Select channel. There are also two additions to the ToledoVision 5 gallery, a Monday, 11/4/91 ad for Newhart and a Thursday, 11/7/91 ad for The People's Court (Judge Joseph Wapner). More November 1991 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...

Tuesday
Feb042014

February 4, 2014: The Real Life Drama of Justice

 

There are just seven more ads today, all from October 1991, plus four Random Pages gallery additions from pages of The Blade, starting with two "Focus on TV" columns by Tom Ensign. There's a Tuesday, 10/1/91 story, "Buckeye Catering to Courtroom Junkies." There's also a Thursday, 10/3/91 story, "New Co-Host Named for 'Thursday Night'," about Rhonda Sewell. It also includes another channel 30 item on Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? The other two are "News Section 2" stories, a Thursday, 10/10/91 story by Tom Ensign, "New Owners to Take Over Channel 13." and a Saturday, 10/19/91 story by John Lis, "Friends, Kin Laud Famous Son," about Jamie Farr, with a photo by Lee Merkle. There are two additions to the PBS gallery for channel 30 shows. First is a Wednesday, 10/3/91 "Showcase Week" ad for Great Performances, "Everybody Dance Now" with Paula Abdul and M.C. Hammer, and Edge. The other one is a Thursday, 10/3/91 ad for Mystery! "Devices and Desires" (Ray Marsden). There are also two additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Tuesday, 10/1/91 ad for Court TV, and a Friday, 10/4/91 ad for Movie Madness Weekend on The Movie Channel. There's one addition to the Vintage Cable Ads gallery, a Saturday, 10/12/91 ad for The Statler Brothers Show, on TNN. The last two ads today are additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Sunday, 10/13/91 Toledo Magazine ad for Toledo Edison, featuring Louie, the Lighting Bug, and a Sunday, 10/20/91 full-page ad for Cub Foods, announcing a sale on paper products. More October 1991 and November 1991 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...

Sunday
Feb022014

February 2, 2014: Call Now! Watch Tonight!

 

You'll find fifteen more ads today, all from September 1991, plus one Random Pages gallery addition, a Tuesday, 9/10/91 Blade Peach Section story by Tom Ensign, "The Winds of Change are Affecting Programming on Local TV Stations," about changes in syndicated programming. There are two additions to the PBS gallery for programming on Channel 30, including a Sunday, 9/29/91 ad for "Longtime Companion" on American Playhouse. I had scanned this ad and posted it years ago, but this one is larger and of better quality. There's also a Monday, 9/30/91 "Showcase Week" ad for Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? and The American Experience, "LBJ." There are four additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, starting with a Monday, 9/9/91 ad for Dinosaur! with Walter Cronkite, on A&E. Next is a Wednesday, 9/11/91 ad (The CableSystem is our best home entertainment value.), followed by a Thursday, 9/19/91 ad (Call Now!...Watch Tonight!) and a Saturday, 9/28/91 ad for AMC Saltues the States: Ohio. There are two additions to the ToledoVision 5 gallery, both for Matlock (Andy Griffith), a Monday, 9/23/91 ad and a Tuesday, 9/24/91 ad. The remaining seven ads are additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, starting with two for the new Burlington Air Express cargo hub at Toledo Express Airport. There's a Wednesday, 9/4/91 ad (The Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority welcomes the inaugural flight...) and a Thursday, 9/5/91 ad (Thank You Toledo!). Next is a 9/5/91 full-page ad for K-Mart (New 16-bit Nintendo Power), followed by a Friday, 9/6/91 ad for Centel Cellular (We're Not All Business). There's also a Saturday, 9/21/91 ad for Toledo Edison (Not all electrical problems can be solved with black tape.) and a Wednesday, 9/25/91 full-page ad for Franklin Park Mall, giving thanks for being allowed to expand. And today's last ad is a Thursday, 9/26/91 ad for The Hungry Hobo (formerly Victoria Station) in Maumee. October 1991 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the ywa...

Thursday
Jan302014

January 30, 2014: Run To Your TV

 

You'll find ten more ads today, from July and August 1991, plus one Random Pages gallery addition, a Thursday, 8/15/91 Blade Peach Section story by Tom Ensign, "WGTE Packs Schedule with Funding Enticements." Also included is an item about WNWO's Julia Sandridge. There are two additions to the Channel 36 gallery. The first one is a Thursday, 7/25/91 ad for Beverly Hills 90210, "Summer Storm" and a Friday night Detroit Tigers game against the Texas Rangers. There's also a Wednesday, 8/28/91 ad for Browns Insider. There's one addition to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Wednesday, 8/28/91 ad for The U.S. Open on USA Network. There are three additions to the ToledoVision 5 gallery including a Tuesday, 7/30/91 ad for the movie "Magnum Force" (Clint Eastwood) on The Big Show. Next is a Sunday, 8/11/91 ad for Kids Karnival Club shows coming in September, followed by a Saturday, 8/31/91 ad for MAC football games coming in September. And there are four additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery including a Monday, 7/22/91 Kroger ad for the Ohio State Fair. There are also three Food Town full-page ads. There's a Thursday, 8/1/91 ad for Toledo's Rib-Off on the riverfront, a Monday, 8/12/91 ad for the Toledo Zoo and Purina, and a Monday, 8/19/91 ad for the 26th annual German American Festival. September 1991 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...

Tuesday
Jan282014

January 28, 2014: Behind the Scenes

 

There are ten more ads today, all from July 1991, plus two more Random Pages gallery additions from the pages of The Blade. The first one is a Wednesday, 7/3/91 Peach Section story by Tom Ensign, "Buckeye, UT Jointly Drop Learning Channel." Also included are items about channels 11 and 36. The second one is a Wednesday, 7/10/91 Business Section story by Doug Iverson, "Petition Asks FCC to Block Sale of WSPD, WLQR." Also see this 5/31/91 related story. There's one addition to the PBS gallery for a rerun of the mini-series, The Civil War, on Channel 30, a Monday, 6/15/91 ad. There are four additions to the ToledoVision 5 gallery, starting with a Tuesday, 7/2/91 ad for Behind the Scenes at the Jamie Farr Toledo Classic, hosted by WXKR's Julie Fox. These reports were seen on TV5 and heard on WXKR-FM. Next is a Monday, 7/15/91 ad for the movie, "The Candidate" (Robert Redford), followed by a Thursday, 7/18/91 ad for Buckeye Baseball, with the Detroit Tigers playing the Toledo Mud Hens. There's also a Friday, 7/19/91 ad for another movie, "The Killing Fields." There's one addition to the Vintage Cable Ads gallery, a Sunday, 7/7/91 TV Week ad for VideoMorning on TNN (Vince Gill). There's also one addition to the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Sunday, 7/21/91 ad for Rush Limbaugh on WSPD-AM 1370. The last three ads today are additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, starting with a Saturday, 7/6/91 Society Bank ad for the Seventh Annual Jamie Farr Toledo Classic. Next is a Friday, 7/12/91 ad for the "T-Town Boys," Nick & Jimmy's Bar & Grill, The Village Inn, Amigo's, Alexander's Greek Restaurant, and The Cockeyed Eagle. There's also a Wednesday, 7/17/91 ad for Southwyck's Summer Sidewalk Sale, featuring performances by Elvis impersonator, Ray Maas. More July 1991 and August 1991 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade are on the way...