Powered by Squarespace
Navigation
Changing Channels Video (WMV)
9 CKLW-TV & CBET-TV
AutoPilot Companion

UPDATES TO THE SITE:

Thursday
Mar212013

March 21, 2013: Come On Along!

I added nine more ads today, all from July, 1982 plus six more Random Pages gallery additions from Peach Sections of The Blade. The first one is a Friday, 7/2/82 story by Tom Gearhart, “2 Public TV Stations Receive Awards” and also includes other items about radio stations WJR-AM and WTOD-AM, and Cherie Sands. Next is a Friday, 7/9/82 story by David Crook, “All News Network Tightens Belt To Weather Money Ills,” about CNN. There's also a Thursday, 7/22/82 story by Fred Rothenberg, “SuperStation WTBS Fights Network Methods, Programs” and a Saturday, 7/24/82 AP story, “Field TV Stations Offered For Sale.” There's another one by Tom Gearhart, a Friday, 7/30/82 story, “CableSystem Adds Programs Aimed At Women, Rock Fans,” about “Daytime” and MTV joining the CableSystem's lineup, and also includes other items about 3-D movies and The Roots of Rock 'n' Roll, on WTOL-TV, The last one is a Saturday, 7/31/82 “Electronic Press Box” story by Seymour Rothman, “ESPN Boxing To Challenge Turner's College Football.” There's one addition to the Channel 24 News gallery, a Monday, 7/26/82 ad for Dave Carlson's weather reports, live from the Lucas County Fair. There are four additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, including a Sunday, 7/4/82 full-page Toledo Magazine ad for The Blade Cablenews Channel 11. There's also a Sunday, 7/11/82 ad (Take the Bite Out of Going to the Movies), a Tuesday, 7/13/82 ad (CableSystem Night At the Ballgame) and a Sunday, 7/18/82 ad for Cable Ads on The Blade Cablenews Channel 11. There's one addition to the Radio Station Ads gallery, a Friday, 7/2/82 ad for the Toledo Fireworks 50 at Toledo Speedway, sponsored by WSPD-AM 1370. There are also three additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, including a Tuesday, 7/6/82 full-page ad for Food Town/WMHE/Toledo Mud Hens T-Shirts and Food Town Day at the Toledo Zoo for Max the Gorilla's birthday party. There's also another 7/6/82 ad, another one featuring Victoria Principal for Vic Tanny, and a Thursday, 7/8/82 ad for RCA's Videodisc Player. August and September 1982 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...

Tuesday
Mar192013

March 19, 2013: Foul Weather Friends

 

I added eighteen more ads today, all from June 1982 plus four more Random Pages gallery additions, from Peach Sections of The Blade. The first two are Electronic Press Box stories by Seymour Rothman, a Saturday, 6/5/82 story, “TV Sports Fans Will Need Very Loving Wives This Week” and a Saturday, 6/9/82 story, “New Way To Make TV Pay: The Tossaway Unscrambler.” Next is a Tuesday, 6/15/82 story by Tom Gearhart, “Ch. 24 Series Awarded Ohio Emmy” and also includes other items, about Merle Kachenmeister, Entertainment Tonight, WCWA-AM, WGTE/WGLE-FM observing National Orchestra Week, and a WTOL-TV special on the auto industry. There's also a Friday, 6/18/82 story, “Four Country-Music Interviews Are Slated” (on WKLR-FM). There's one addition to the Channel 13 gallery, two Tuesday, 6/15/82 ads for a special on the World's Fair in Knoxville, hosted by Jera Jackson and sponsored by Liberty Airlines. There are also two additions to the Channel 13 News gallery, a Tuesday, 6/8/82 ad for their election coverage (Jerry Anderson, Brenda Hines, Frank Venner) and a Saturday, 6/12/82 ad for “Foul Weather Friends,” Stan Stachak and Merle Kachenmeister. There's one addition to the Channel 24 gallery, a Thursday, 6/17/82 ad for AM Magazine (Paul W. Smith) and there are two additions to the Channel 24 News gallery, a Tuesday, 6/9/82 ad for their election coverage (Rick Benjamin, Rosemary Collins, Heather Mackenzie, Shelley Czeizler) and a Thursday, 6/24/82 ad, telling about their Emmy Award for the 24 News Tonight series of reports on dogfighting. There are two additions to the PBS gallery, both for movies on channel 30, a Friday, 6/4/82 ad for “The King and I” (Yul Brynner), and a Saturday, 6/6/82 ad for “Love is a Many Splendored Thing” and “Three Coins in the Fountain.” There are four additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, including a Friday, 6/11/82 ad for the CNN shows, News World, Moneyline, Prime News/120 and People Tonight. There's also a Friday, 6/11/82 ad for University of Toledo Community Cablevision (UTen), a Sunday, 6/20/82 ad for the Blade Cable Contest on Cable News Channel 11, and a Sunday, 6/20/82 full-page TV Tab ad for a special offer from The CableSystem. There's also one addition to the Buckeye Channel 5 gallery, a Monday, 6/7/82 ad for the movie, “Secret Agent” on Hitchcock Thriller Week on Cable Theatre. There are three additions to the Vintage Cable Ads gallery, a Friday, 6/11/82 ad for The College Baseball World Series and World Cup Soccer on ESPN and two for CBS Cable, a Thursday, 6/24/82 ad and a Sunday, 6/27/82 ad. Today's last two ads are additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Thursday, 6/3/82 ad for Blade carriers (“Mom, I need more allowance”) and a Friday, 6/11/82 ad for the Recycling Station. July 1982 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...

Sunday
Mar172013

March 17, 2013: Spirit at the Marketplace

 

I added eighteen more ads today from May 1982, plus one Random Pages gallery addition, a Saturday, 5/22/82 story by Tom Gearhart, “Fine Spring Weather Hurts Channel 30 Buy-In Campaign” and also includes other items about WTOL-TV offering signed news for the deaf, Toledoan Jim Kelly on CBS NFL broadcasts, radio stations WSPD-AM, WGTE-FM, WJR-AM, and WMHE's Michael Drew Shaw. There are two additions to the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, one for channel 11 and one for channel 13, a Tuesday, 5/18/82 ad for a Dan Cummins Toledo Eleven News series of reports on sports gambling, and a Saturday, 5/15/82 ad for the 13 Strong News Special Report, “Spirit at the Marketplace” with Brenda Hines. There's one more in the Channel 13 News gallery, a Friday, 5/28/82 ad for 13 Weatherwatch (Stan Stachak). There are also three additions to the Channel 13 gallery, two for the 13 Strong Sunday Night Movie, a Saturday, 5/15/82 ad for “Lady Sings the Blues” (Diana Ross) and a Saturday, 5/22/82 ad for “Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” (Elizabeth Taylor). There's also a Monday, 5/17/82 ad for the NBC mini-series, Marco Polo. There's one addition to the Channel 24 gallery, a Thursday, 5/13/82 ad for AM Magazine with Paul W. Smith, “At Home with Scott Hamilton.” There are five additions to the PBS gallery, all for shows on channel 30, including a Thursday, 5/13/82 ad for American Playhouse, “Oppenheimer” with Sam Waterson. There are two for Media Probes, a Wednesday, 5/12/82 ad for “Language” with Victor Borge, and a Wednesday, 5/26/82 ad for “Design” with Bill Blass. There's a Saturday, 5/22/82 ad for Horowitz in London: A Royal Concert, simulcast on WGTE/WGLE-FM, and there's a Friday, 5/28/82 ad for The Regulators: Our Invisible Government with E.G. Marshall. There are three additions to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, all for SuperStation WTBS, a Friday, 5/14/82 ad for The Undersea World of Jacques Cousteau, a Saturday, 5/15/82 ad for MotorWeek Illustrated, and a Sunday, 5/16/82 ad for Atlanta Braves Baseball. There are two additions to the Radio Station Ads gallery, both for WGTE-FM 91.3 and WGLE-FM 90.7, a Friday, 5/14/82 ad for Star Wars, on Public Radio, and a Tuesday, 5/25/82 ad for a concert with Sherill Milnes, from Lima, Ohio. Today's last ad is an addition to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Saturday, 5/29/82 ad for Kodak Blue Ribbon Photofinishing. June 1982 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...

Thursday
Mar142013

March 14, 2013: Live From the Toledo Zoo

 

I added sixteen more ads today, all from May, 1982. There's one addition to the Channel 11 News gallery, a Saturday, 5/8/82 ad for weekend anchor Rebecca Hanshaw. There are two more Toledo Eleven News ads included in the four additions to the News/Special Reports Ads gallery, a Tuesday, 5/4/82 ad for a Dick Berry series of reports on CBS soap operas, and a Monday, 5/10/82 ad for a Jeff Heitz series of reports on cancer. There's also a Wednesday, 5/5/82 ad for a 13 Strong News report on “Barrier Free Travel,” by Jim Rudes, and a Tuesday, 5/4/82 ad for 24 News Tonight reports on the 1982 World's Fair in Knoxville, by Joel Feick and Diane Larson. There are also two additions to the Channel 13 gallery, a Monday, 5/3/82 ad for the NBC special, Bob Hope's Stars Over Texas Special (Jack Lemmon, Morgan Fairchild, Dottie West, Gatlin Brothers), and a Saturday, 5/8/82 ad for “The Gambler” on The 13 Strong Sunday Night Movie (James Caan). There's one addition to the Channel 24 gallery, a Thursday, 5/6/82 ad for AM Magazine with Paul W. Smith, at the Toledo Zoo. There are six additions to the PBS gallery, all for The Great Channel 30 Buy-In, a Saturday, 5/1/82 ad (Just For Kids), a Monday, 5/3/82 ad (Trips, Near and Far), a Tuesday, 3/4/82 ad (Sensational Board Sold Tonight), a Wednesday, 5/5/82 ad (We're Strong for Ohio Merchandise), a Friday, 5/7/82 ad (Art, Antiques, Collectibles), and a Saturday, 5/8/82 ad (Spectacular Board Sold Tonight). Today's last two ads are in the Other Vintage ads gallery, both with Victoria Principal for Vic Tanny, a Monday, 5/3/82 ad (Final Week...Get Summer Free) and a Monday, 5/10/82 ad ($24 Dollars a Month for 12 Months). The rest of the May 1982 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...

Tuesday
Mar122013

March 12, 2013: Very Soon!

 

I added fourteen more ads today from March and April 1982, plus four more Random Pages gallery additions from Peach Sections of The Blade. The first one is a Wednesday, 3/24/82 story by Tom Gearhart, “UT To Offer Courses Over Television” and also includes other items about WJR-AM, WKLR-FM, and Bob Barker of The Price Is Right, appearing in Toledo at Centennial Hall. Next is a Wednesday, 3/31/82 story, “Norman Dresser Retiring After 34 Years at The Blade. There's also a Tuesday, 4/20/82 story by Tom Gearhart, “24 News Names Benjamin As Co-Anchor With Collins” and a Wednesday, 4/21/82 story, “Record Fest '82 Set At Recreation Center,” about an event sponsored by Boogie Records and WXEZ-FM, to support WGTE-TV. There are two additions to the Channel 11 gallery, including a Thursday, 4/1/82 ad for the Toledo Eleven Kids Health Fair at Franklin Park Mall. The other one is a Thursday, 4/29/82 ad for a PM Magazine segment on Mariette Hartley, who was doing Polaroid commercials with James Garner at the time. There's one addition to the Channel 13 gallery, a Tuesday, 3/23/82 ad for a syndicated program, The National Crime and Violence Test, “Burglary, Robbery and Theft.” There are two additions to the Channel 24 gallery, both for The 11th Easter Seal Telethon, a Friday, 3/26/82 ad and a Saturday, 3/27/82 ad (Pat Boone, Paul W. Smith, Rosemary Collins). There are also three additions to the Channel 24 News gallery for new 24 News Tonight anchorman Rick Benjamin, a Wednesday, 4/14/82 ad, a Tuesday, 4/20/82 ad, and a Saturday, 4/24/82 ad. There's one addition to the PBS gallery, a Thursday, 4/29/82 ad for The Great Channel 30 Buy-In, and there's also one addition to the Buckeye CableSystem gallery, a Thursday, 4/15/82 ad for CNN Financial News. There are two additions to the Radio Station Ads gallery, including a Wednesday, 3/25/82 ad for WMHE-FM 92.5, trying to lure away WJR listeners with The 92-5 Morning Times. It was actually just a part of a larger, full-page ad. There's also a Thursday, 4/15/82 ad for “unforgettable” WCWA-AM. Today's last ad is an addition to the Other Vintage ads gallery, a Thursday, 3/25/82 ad for Ohio Bell (Teleconferencing pulls everybody together...). May 1982 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...