July 21, 2017: Your Own Theater...At Home, Every Night
Friday, July 21, 2017 at 1:56PM
Mike

You''ll find eighteen more ads today, all from September 1948 editions of The Blade. There are eleven additions to the Radio Station Ads gallery, starting with a Tuesday, 9/7/48 ad, in the Peach Section, for Boston Blackie on WTOL-AM, sponsored by Webb Coal Co. Next is a Sunday, 9/12/48 ad, in the Feature Section, for Theatre Guild on the Air, sponsored by U.S. Steel. The show that week was "A Bell for Adano," starring Robert Montgomery. It aired locally on WTOL-AM. There's a Monday, 9/13/48 ad, in the Peach Section, for Cavalcade of America on WSPD-AM, starring Dick Powell, in "Gettysburg." It's followed by a Thursday, 9/21/48 ad, also in the Peach Section, for Bob Hope, also on WSPD-AM, sponsored by Swan Soap. Next is a Friday, 9/22/48 ad, in the Peach Section, for The Milton Berle Show (Texaco Star Theater), on WTOL-AM, followed by a Monday, 9/27/48 ad, in the Peach Section, for Betty Newton, hostess for the Gas Company, on WSPD-AM. There's also a Tuesday, 9/28/48 ad, in the Peach Section, again for Bob Hope's all new show for Swan Soap, on WSPD-AM. That ad is followed by a Wednesday, 9/29/48 ad, for the CBS Radio show, Harvest of Stars with James Melton, sponsored by International Harvester and heard on WJR-AM. and another 9/29/48 ad, again for The Milton Berle Show, on WTOL-AM, The next two ads are Thursday, 9/30/48 ads for shows on WSPD-AM, the first ad, for George Burns and Gracie Allen on It's Maxwell House Coffee Time, on NBC Radio, the second ad, for a paid political program for Governor Thomas Dewey. candidate for president. The rest of today's ads are additions to the Other Vintage ads gallery, starting with a Friday, 9/3/48 ad for General Electric televisions at Toledo Television Corp., followed by a Sunday, 9/5/48 ad, in the Feature Section, for Toledo Edison (Hi-Ho, Come to the Fair). Next are three Monday, 9/6/48 ads. There's a Coca-Cola ad (3 R's Add Another--R for Refreshment. Coke was a sponsor of Claudia on WTOL-AM, and was bottled locally by Lasalle Bottling Company. Next is a Lucas County Democratic Committee ad for an appearance by President Harry S. Truman, followed by a Toledo Sports Arena ad, for a live radio broadcast of Ralph Edwards' Truth or Consequences, from the Sports Arena. There's a Friday, 9/10/48 ad, for Philco Televisions at Dick McCloskey's Radio-Television Sales and Service in Toledo, followed by a Wednesday, 9/28/48 half-page ad, for Admiral televisions at Clayton Thomas, Inc. More 1948 ads, from the online archives of The Toledo Blade, are on the way...

Article originally appeared on Vintage Toledo TV (http://www.vintagetoledotv.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.